“All art is quite useless.”

Oscar Wilde wrote that line in his famous The Picture of Dorian Gray. If you haven’t read Gray, you don’t know that the entire book centers around a painting, sort of. With that said, I find this quote so interesting. Art really is useless, but absolutely profound.

Without art, I imagine a lot more people would be in a lot worse places.

For a long time, I stopped making art. I don’t know if I forgot to paint, or if I just thought I wasn’t good enough at it for it to matter, but I’m sure the latter is more accurate. Two long years passed by without so much as an underpainting. Life gets busy. Work, education, sleep every now and then, and all of the sudden, it’s been over 700 days without a hint of primary yellow or red ochre.

I finally broke my long streak of artless days a few weeks ago. Since then, I’ve completed 9 paintings, and sold 6. It’s incredible and so validating.

So, I will post one here if anyone is interested. This nebula needs a home (preferably not mine) and it’ll go for a fair price. Only $35. 11×14 board.

20140426-011637.jpg

Hopefully my art isn’t useless, and neither is yours.

Leave a Reply

